If you went out for a night on the town, there’s a chance that you may have had a little too much to drink. Even if you didn’t, getting behind the wheel with any amount of alcohol in your system may increase the risk of being pulled over due to errors you make while driving. Let’s read what are the penalties for multiple DUIs in Indiana.
It may not seem like it, but getting a drunk driving charge is surprisingly easy, and it can happen as a result of being pulled over for almost any kind of traffic infraction. Whether you were speeding, have a tail light out or weaved in your lane, a police officer may pull you over, realize that you’ve had a drink and proceed with DUI testing.
Penalties for multiple DUIs When You’re Stopped By the Police?
During a traffic stop, the police officers need to follow specific procedures. They will have to be able to show the reason for the stop and why they asked you to take a Breathalyzer test or to complete field sobriety testing. If they make mistakes during this process, then those mistakes may be able to be used against them and in your defense later on.
During your stop, you may be asked to take a Breathalyzer test. If you refuse, you will immediately lose your license. If not, then the test will come back with your blood alcohol concentration. If it is above the legal limit of .08%, then you can be arrested. Even if it’s below this limit, signs of impairment may also lead to your arrest.
Should You Talk to the Police?
Talking to the police isn’t the best idea if you’ve been pulled over. While you can give them information that they request, such as your name and identifying information, it’s best not to say anything that could result in an accidental admission of guilt. You have a right to remain silent if you’re arrested as well.
What Are the Penalties for multiple DUIs in Indiana?
The penalties for drinking and driving are significant. A first-time offense leads to fines of up to $5,000 and a license suspension of up to two years. You may also be imprisoned for up to a year. The first offense is generally either a Class A misdemeanor or Class C misdemeanor.
Each time you reoffend, the penalties become more significant. For a second offense, you can expect to be imprisoned for at least five days up to three years. You may also be required to perform community service and be fined up to $10,000. You’re likely to lose your license for at least 180 days and up to two years and may face other probation requirements, too.
Third offenses are even more significant, leading to imprisonment for at least 10 days up to three years. You may also be required to take part in community service. Fines are up to $10,000 for a third offense, and you will lose your license for at least a year. You could lost it for up to 10 years. On top of this, you may be sentenced as a habitual substance offender, which could add up to eight more years to any prison sentence. Like with other offenses, you may also have to go through probation.
Remember, you will be asked to use an Ignition Interloc Device if you are granted a temporary license of any kind, and it may be required for months or years, depending on your case.
If you want to be released from jail while your case is pending, you will be asked to post bail. If you cannot, then you may have to remain there until your hearing or trial.
If you are arrested, it’s a smart choice to talk to your attorney as soon as you can. Taking specific legal actions may be able to help you protect your rights and minimize the penalties you face.