The Best NBA Players Who Never Won a Ring


The NBA promises great opportunities to players talented enough to make the league. Besides financial security, they are offered financial security and the best opportunities to prove themselves as the best basketball players in the world.

However, only one team can win the NBA title every season. Since the league features multiple stars across different teams, some of the best players in league history never got to lift the Larry O’Brien trophy during their playing careers.

The league has seen plenty of Hall of Famers who never got the chance to win a Finals ring for themselves. This piece will list some of the biggest NBA superstars who never won it all in their professional basketball careers.

Karl Malone

The Mailman is one of the most dominant power forwards during his time. Together with John Stockton, they were the core of a strong Utah Jazz squad that became one of the most dominant Western Conference teams in the nineties. They got their Finals tickets in 1997 and 1998.

He also had one more shot for glory when he joined the Los Angeles Lakers in 2003 with Gary Payton to win his ring. They were heavy favorites as Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant were in their corner.

Unfortunately, Malone had to go through tough competition during his Finals trips. Michael Jordan’s Bulls won the 1997 and 1998 Finals, and both series were finished in six games. Meanwhile, the 2004 Lakers were dropped by the Detroit Pistons in an embarrassing sweep.

See also  A Weekend in France to Create Gold-Engraved Memories!

Charles Barkley

Most people know Sir Charles as a quarter of the iconic Inside the NBA crew, but he used to be one of the most dominant players in the nineties. Charles Barkley is one of the best undersized big men the league ever saw.

He averaged incredible numbers during his career with 22.1 points, 11.7 rebounds, and 3.9 assists on 54% shooting. The first-ballot Hall of Famer had his first and only shot at the Larry O’Brien trophy in 1993, when the Phoenix Suns faced the Chicago Bulls.

Barkley joins Malone in the long list of NBA stars who didn’t win a ring because of Michael Jordan. His 27.3 PPG, 13.0 RPG, and 5.0 APG showing in his lone Finals series was only enough to take the Suns to six games against Jordan’s Bulls.

Tracy McGrady

Many NBA fans who loved Tracy McGrady will say that the only difference between him and Kobe Bryant was the number of rings on their fingers.

Tracy McGrady was a dangerous scorer whose championship window was cruelly cut short by injuries. A potential dynasty in Houston was cut short as he and Yao Ming had to deal with injuries for most of their time together.

He finally got a shot at winning with the 2013 San Antonio Spurs as a bench player, but the Miami Heat managed to win the game in an epic seven-game series.

These Ringless Players Deserve Respect

These are only three of the most outstanding players who never won a ring. These players are beloved by sports fans and betting fans that frequent sites like OKBET. Fans who appreciate the sport in its purest form will find something fascinating with what these three have done with their careers.